New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Previous Page | Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 4

Christi

United Kingdom
4380 Posts

Posted - Dec 11 2006 :  5:19:10 PM  Show Profile  Visit Christi's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Naz,
Thanks for the reply.
Your posts are always illuminating. I am sorry I am not an expert on astrology, but wanted to reply about this:
quote:
Now a few words I find timely in view of the many people here being interested in ‘enlightenment’ and ‘bliss’, as well as in ‘samadhi’ experience: In my native language the words ‘enlightenment’ and ‘education’ are very close etymologically. They are just two variations of the very same root. Actually ‘education’ in my tongue sounds like a slight variation of ‘enlightenment’. And that is very much reflective of the real situation. ‘Enlightenment’ is mostly referring to getting knowledge from within, while education is more applicable to getting it from external sources. The words are close and have much in common, as well as the processes they refer to. Many people interested in spiritual practices think for some reason that ‘enlightenment’ is something very ultimate and final, like getting the highest possible University degree. Well, it’s not quite the case. You can be more enlightened, and less enlightened. You can be enlightened in some fields, and not enlightened in the other ones. And there’s never a thing like final, ultimate, highest enlightenment. There’s always more to achieve, no matter at which level you currently are.

I find this quite confusing, as it does not fit in with my understanding from the study of scripture. You mentioned that you find Buddhism useful, so maybe I can use that language.