AYPsite.org Forum
 Yamas & Niyamas - Restraints & Observances
 Yamas: ahimsa (nonviolence)
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

bewell

1275 Posts

Posted - Nov 05 2010 :  10:43:55 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Last Tuesday morning I confessed that I have a "fight response" in certain social situations, and that it is interfering with my wellbeing. I had seen that it is a pattern across various social groups. It happens in response to leaders who seem to press a point of view that I find mistaken, or at least mistaken as it applies to me and the people for whom I have particular affection.

I did something that, to my memory, I have never done before. Borrowing from the 12 step program, I admitted that I am powerless over my fight response. It felt completely true. When I shared this with a friend and teacher, she said that it was beautiful. She said that there is power in admitting powerlessness. I was immediately in tears, and I felt an immediate shift in my inner emotional life. The fight response energy evaporated, and it was just me, humbled, which is to say, true.

CarsonZi

Canada
3189 Posts

Posted - Nov 05 2010 :  10:46:44 AM  Show Profile  Visit CarsonZi's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Beautiful
Go to Top of Page

Bodhi Tree

2972 Posts

Posted - Nov 10 2010 :  04:07:06 AM  Show Profile  Visit Bodhi Tree's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Your post resonates with me on various levels. I struggled with drinking alcohol recently, attended some AA meetings, and adopted the approach of acknowledging how I was "powerless" over the habit. Immediate and effective transformation.

I have taken to meditation like a fish to water, because it is an "active" exercise of powerless-ness, an active surrender to this calming whirlwind of energy that I am just beginning to discover in our nervous system. Beautiful.
Go to Top of Page

bewell