Satsang Cafe - General Discussions on AYP
 SRF vs AYP
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

freedom

USA
4 Posts

Posted - Sep 23 2015 :  3:38:11 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hello, I'm new to AYP - tho not to spiritual practice. I had my 1st spiritual awakening at age 3 asking "who am I" out of wonderment that everyone seemed to make so much out of nothing. I innately knew my emptiness and in asking myself "who am I" made myself disappear. Ever since I've read every book I could get my hands on from The Baghavad Gita, Merging with Siva, Autobiography of a Yogi, the Bible, Yoga Sutras etc... I have been meditating for 10+ years, studied Zen Awareness for some time which was great yet limited. I also practice Asanas. Meditation was an instant blessing for me; I started with a simple technique: eyes open, letting thoughts go by... I'd merge into oneness with all, feeling intense love and great peace in my days. Recently, I signed up for the Self Realization Fellowship Kriya Yoga teachings as a result of reading Autobiography of a Yogi- however, only 2 mailings in, I somehow landed on the AYP books and was instantly hooked! I love the practical no-nonsense approach and have read more than 1/2 the books & listened to all the interviews of Yogani by Dr Ann West. Now I feel torn! I enjoy the lessons from SRF yet I'm really drawn to AYP. I decided to stick to the AYP technique as I had a bit more clunkiness initially with the SRF clenching/breath releasing stuff. I have experienced outstanding bliss combining the twice daily deep meditation w/ spinal breathing pranayama and asanas. I;m finding it difficult to merge the ujjayi breathing with the focus on the third eye and mulabandha while visualizing the spinal nerve... Does anyone have any advice to me at this stage besides stick with it? thank you so much and I'm really grateful to all of you and Yogani! Much love.

Dogboy

USA
2201 Posts