Building a Daily Practice with Self-Pacing
 Balancing AYP with daily Reiki self healing
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

AlanCrawfordUK

United Kingdom
24 Posts

Posted - Dec 08 2010 :  3:16:36 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I know Reiki has been discussed several times on this forum, and I have read through the old posts to avoid repetition...

My question is of a practical nature and relates to self-pacing and sequencing.

I have been attuned to Reiki Level 1 and hoping to take my second level attunement in the next month or so. The attunement has had a profound, positive impact on my life, leading to changes in my dietary choices, cleansing and purification.

I have just started AYP (after a few months of purely asana work, combined with Buddhist meditation which I have been doing for 8 months and Reiki self healing, which I have been doing for three months). These combined practices (as well as reading books by Eckhart Tolle, Louise Hay and James Redfield) have led to wonderful personal and spiritual development. I believe that AYP will take this development to the next level.

Reiki advises students and practitioners alike to practice self healing, i.e. connecting with universal energy, drawing this down through the Chakra system, back up the spine and out through the hands, using similar hand positions that you would on a client on yourself. Regular self-healing improves your connection with the energy, clears imbalances in your energy & aura and brings a sense of peace and well being. It also means that because your own energy body is in good shape, so to speak, when you give a Reiki treatment to a client, they get maximum benefit as you are able to channel the energy more efficiently without keeping too much for yourself! Most advise a short (10-15) self-healing session every day, with a longer (30 minutes) session when you can afford the time.