New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Previous Page | Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 3

david_obsidian

USA
2602 Posts

Posted - Dec 20 2006 :  3:05:59 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
I read these modern commentaries as quite probably inventive; nevertheless, they are useful as an adjunct to the practice of abstaining from orgasm

I agree.

So David, how do you interpret the "virginity-cultic thinking that meshed with Christianity"?

Well, I'm no expert by any means on the history. But I do know that virginity-cultic themes were widespread in ancient history and I think there may be native human tendencies towards it, just as there are probably native human tendencies towards recurring themes such as sacrificing to the gods. But I'm not going to assume that the virginity-cults and advanced tantric principles come from the same place in the psyche. My personal thinking on the matter is, no, they don't come from the same place and are somewhat co-incidentally related. But that's just my personal thinking.

And if I may ask, how does your reading of the history relate to your practice?

To be honest, it doesn't. All I can say is that virginity cults are hard to get going in modern times and I think it's a good thing.

Edited by - david_obsidian on Dec 20 2006 7:25:19 PM
Go to Top of Page

Etherfish

USA
3615 Posts

Posted - Dec 20 2006 :  5:16:00 PM  Show Profile  Visit Etherfish's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
CHESTER, England — As Christmas approaches, a virgin mother is anxiously awaiting the arrival of her offspring. She's Flora, the Komodo dragon.
In an evolutionary twist, Flora has managed to become pregnant all on her own without any male help. It would seem the timing is auspicious: the seven baby Komodo dragons are due this festive season.