Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 DM or zoning out ?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

vrandy

Canada
7 Posts

Posted - Jan 15 2016 :  1:48:23 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi,

I have been practicing DM for about 2 months with almost twice-daily practices. Prior to that about 18 months of MBSR.

I am trying to make sense of what progress looks like during a DM session. I have read about the purification process in the AYP lessons and I think that Yogani wrote that an example of a "successful" session would be that one starts with the mantra, quickly loses track of it, and come back to it at the very end of the session.

Outside meditation circles some might call this "zoning out" but there is not such a thing in AYP, right ?

How is it that "losing the mantra" is an effective transformation process? Is the idea that when one starts repeating the mantra, one sets a process in motion that continues, "underground" so to speak, even without further mantra repetition? Like pushing a toy boat on the surface of a bathtub and the toy glides without further push ? The more mantra repetitions, the farther the boat goes?

sunyata

USA
1508 Posts

Posted - Jan 15 2016 :  2:10:06 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Vrandy,

Welcome to the forums. Below are some recent threads discussing DM. They may be helpful.

http://www.aypsite.org/forum/topic....PIC_ID=15702
http://www.aypsite.org/forum/topic....PIC_ID=15870
http://www.aypsite.org/forum/topic....PIC_ID=15392

Go to Top of Page

Jayleno214

USA
87 Posts

Posted - Jan 15 2016 :  2:49:43 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Be aware that when you hear or read "mantra" it is implied to mean "sound of ayam".

So the sound if ayam within (not externally vocalized, must make this clear) produces purification.