Satsang Cafe - General Discussions on AYP
 Advice for the undersensitive?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Yogaman

USA
295 Posts

Posted - Mar 30 2015 :  1:07:00 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I've been going through some periods of doubt and frustration about meditation and yoga lately.

To sum up my current situation: I've been practicing AYP diligently for over two years now, with deep meditation, spinal breathing, some asanas and recently I've included both yoni mudra khumbaka and samyama. I've had some minor and persistent sensations at the brow, along the spine and at the root. They are all mildly pleasant but mostly a curiosity than blissful or ecstatic in any sense.

At any rate, I've lately been a bit disillusioned with my practices. This has happened before as well. But this time I'd like to reach out for some advice. It seems that many here are experiencing much more than I, and there are only a handful of posts with the search "undersensitive". Perhaps the forums attract those with more sensitivity to the practices. There seem to be far more oversensitive people looking for help than those undersensitive.

I'd appreciate any advice for not only the undersensitive like me, but also how others deal with these periods of doubt and lack of motivation. I'm a left-brain type, so I look for direct experience over faith — in fact, the plain, open discussion of techniques and results and talk of direct experience was what initially attracted me to AYP (and continues to do so).

I feel quite in the minority here, and at times the time and effort I put into my yoga practice seems like I'm trying to fill up a bucket with a hole in the bottom.