Discussions on AYP Pranayama, Mudras and Bandhas
 Can't relax while doing spinal breathing
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Ace

Germany
30 Posts

Posted - Feb 10 2015 :  3:19:32 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hello everyone,

I have been using AYP techniques for a couple of months now, doing the two times daily routine as recommended.
When practicing spinal breathing, I can't enjoy it and I feel like I haven't got a grip on the basic technique, even though I've been practicing it for 4 months now.

Here's a list of my problems and unclear points:

1)I feel like I'm short of breath, when I'm trying to trace the current in my spinal nerve, my breathing often stops before the current reaches the third eye/root. So my breaths seem to be too short to get the whole lenght of the spinal nerve.

2) I'm generally having a hard time tracing the spinal nerve. How important is timing the breath with the tracing here? I often breath in and when I stop breathing in, the current hasn't reached my head, yet.

3) When imagining the stream going upwards, I often feel nothing, until it hits my head, than I can feel it strongly going forward and than really strong at the third eye. Is this a problem, since I don't feel much in the lower part of the body? Might this create imbalances?

4)When imagining it going downwards, I very often loose it completely after it has reached my lower back. I can't really make it go all the way down to the root, most of the times, I run out of breath. I'm using breath restriction for breathing out.

5) I tried doing yoga breath (filling the stomach first, than the lungs..) but it took so much concentration away, that I couldn't focus on the spinal nerve anymore.