Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 Dosing off during DM
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

IslandJewyl

USA
3 Posts

Posted - Jun 29 2014 :  12:54:13 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Greetings, everyone!

Firstly, much gratitude to Yogani and everyone for this place where the sharing of everyone's experiences, insights and information is so immensely helpful.

I am new to AYP and am recently attempting to return to a consistent routine of DM. I had been practicing for a brief period last year (around 5 months) but had to stop for several reasons, mostly health related. At the time, my practice consisted of 5 minutes SB, 10 minutes DM and 5 minutes rest twice a day. My question is, and I remember also having this issue last year, is that during my DM session, I would often start dosing off and would only catch myself because the movement of my head nodding forward would jerk me awake! It is akin to dosing off on a bus or train ride, haha. Is this dosing off during DM okay? Once I jerk awake, I do try and easily favor the mantra again, but it can be a little unsettling and I wonder whether it may be defeating the 'effectiveness' of the DM session, thus warranting an effort to keep from dosing off, if that is possible.

I would appreciate any comments or advice. Thank you!

Mykal K

Germany
266 Posts

Posted - Jun 29 2014 :  06:16:21 AM  Show Profile  Visit Mykal K's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi IslandJewyl,
this is normal. It just means you needed to go a little deeper in your purification and that DM is doing it's job.
It is good to return to the mantra when you become conscious of dosing off as you have said.
Go to Top of Page

Ecdyonurus

Switzerland
479 Posts

Posted - Jun 29 2014 :  07:30:05 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply