New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

dofa66

France
46 Posts

Posted - Mar 08 2014 :  03:45:37 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi everybody,

I have been doing DM twice a day for 5 months now. I started with the nominal 20' duration and got some good results such as less stress and more quietness during daily life. However, these positive outcomes came with an unpleasant feeling of having a kind of numb or half awake mind all day long. Another way to explain it would be to say that my mind feels slowed down, and I find it difficult to think deep and quick when my boss provides me with a problem to solve for instance.

I take care of taking at least 5' of rest after DM as adviced by Yogani. I have tried to self pace down to 15' then 10' of DM: the numbness reduced but the above mentioned positive results faded away too !
And after some months of practice, my mind is reaching this numbness state almost as from the begining of each DM session.

So at the moment I am triyng other meditation methods such as body scan (or sweeping) as taught by Barry Long for instance. But I am afraid of wasting my time trying alternative methods which might be way less effective than the Yogani's DM process, which sounds great when reading all these posts !

I searched thru the forum if somebody had the same numbness effect, but found nothing. Has anybody encountered the same ?

Edited by - dofa66 on Mar 08 2014 03:50:32 AM

dofa66

France
46 Posts

Posted - Mar 08 2014 :  06:05:56 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Maybe I should add the following information: when practicing DM, I feel something like a pressure pulsation in my head or brain, don't know how to explain it better !