Tantra - A Holistic View of Spiritual Development
 Tantra rehabilitation
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Dogboy

USA
2198 Posts

Posted - Oct 17 2013 :  3:49:04 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hail All!

This is my first post and I'm blessed to have stumbled upon this site a few months back when searching for guidance on starting a meditation practice. I have been a yoga student for nine years and had never given meditation a passing thought. Raising an autistic child and dealing with other "stressors" planted the seed, which has sprouted and flourished! My life has changed with my embrace of the silent witness! Forever in debt to Yogini for his guidance!

In 2010 I had a cancerous prostate removed surgically. Good news = no cancer. Bad news = no erection. I had an excellent surgeon who managed to spare the nerves and was continent within months (the urethra needed to be severed and reattached to the bladder with prostate removal). I was told my potency would return, in some capacity, over the following couple of years. Internet research and cancer blogs are abound with tales of botched surgeries and problematic recovery from erectile dysfunction, so I decided to take matters into my own hands, pun intended.

I devised a daily routine of yoga asanas, pranayama (especially kumbacca and spinal breathing), a vacuum pump to jump start erection, and visualization techniques ( after studying the mechanics of engorgement and tracing the flow of blood with the mind's eye; placed attention on the severed nerves and imagined them reconnecting). I also put effort into Bhakti; played with desire and passion through breath and gentle touch and incorporated mirror work. I put on music and danced and generally had fun every day. For my efforts I became fully functional again, and my libido rivals the level of my teen years!