Satsang Cafe - General Discussions on AYP
 Frustration
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

gumpi

United Kingdom
546 Posts

Posted - Apr 26 2006 :  12:13:01 PM  Show Profile  Visit gumpi's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hello,

I mentioned a little about myself in my introductory thread but i thought i would write a bit more and put it out there in the hope that i can get help/advice.

I have been meditating for the last 4 years. It hasnt been regularly but more like in stops and starts, sometimes every day for a week, then none for a week, two three times a week, etc. But still, it has been 4 years.

In that time i have been a regular drinker. Yogani told me that this would retard the meditative process.

However, i was reflecting today on why nothing has happened in all this time. The most that i have ever felt was a little more calmness after getting up from meditation. But this was always like just getting up after a nap.

I speak to a lot of people online who tell me that they experience bliss, chakras, kundalini, and a still mind etc.

So today i was thinking about everything. And presently i have concluded that meditation and spinal breathing are forms of self-hypnosis or auto-suggestion. They enable the practitioner to go into trance. And i don't believe i am suceptible to hypnosis. My Mum once went for hypnosis to a professional and she couldnt be hypnotised.

However, i also think that belief has a big part to play in auto-suggestion in terms of feeling "bliss" and other phenomena AFTER the meditation session is over. I wish i was wrong.

So i am very frustrated with a lack of progress. For example, i met someone online who told me he used to drink so much that he would knock himself out and his life was a complete mess. But then he started to meditate and he felt bliss and was able to give up the drink. I feel cheated.