AYPsite.org Forum
 Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 Meditation and Hypnosis
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Jim and His Karma

2111 Posts

Posted - Oct 05 2005 :  10:59:30 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I was alarmed - for reasons the author didn't intend - by this site, built by a former TM teacher to debunk TM: http://www.suggestibility.org
The meat of his argument can be found at http://www.suggestibility.org/whatI...oLecture.htm , and by pressing the right arrow links to continue.

His argument is that TM is specifically designed to hypnotize practitioners into believing they're getting great results from the practice, and to keep them avidly in the practice (consuming more and more elements).

First, let me say, I don't give a darn about TM. At all. I'd request that if people want to do TM rants, they start another thread. Because what alarms me is that I used to work as a hypnotist, and I see that the author is right. And he's not just right about TM...as I think about it, I realize that there's massive hypnotic effect in any meditation.

The principle of hypnosis is that if you get someone into a relaxed enough, quiet enough state, that any sort of suggestion made by either yourself (self-hypnosis) or a third party (guided hypnosis) will be magnified, conjuring up feelings and behavior patterns which endure into the future (i.e. beyond the hypnotic session). The more you relax and open up, the more potent the effect. And it's quite powerful...it's not just show biz shtick. I've seen the power.

While I do understand how to use hypnosis, I don't quite understand how it works (no one does!), except in a hazy intuitive way. But I do see that meditation and stillness are undeniably a hypnotic state.