Satsang Cafe - General Discussions on AYP
 Can't empathise...something wrong ?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

neerja1

India
22 Posts

Posted - May 01 2010 :  10:44:34 AM  Show Profile  Visit neerja1's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi all,

I have been practicing AYP for more than four years and after an almost burnt out experience due to overdoing of the practices self paced about two years back. Have only been carrying out SB and DM since then. Am pretty happy with the results and do not have any inclination of adding anything further to this as of now.

There has been a presence of the inner witness for past few months during most part of the day. My question relates to the fact that since last few weeks I have not able to empathize with people who are down and out, depressed, sick etc. It is almost like I can see the suffering but feel nothing emotionally (even in the case of near and dear one's). Presence of the witness at the cost of empathy/compassion for others ? Something seems amiss...

Can anyone from the forum please throw some light on this..

Ever grateful to you all for all your wonderful insights and amazingly beautiful threads,

Neerja

Kirtanman

USA
1651 Posts

Posted - May 02 2010 :  12:17:45 AM  Show Profile  Visit Kirtanman's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
quote:
Originally posted by neerja1

Hi all,

I have been practicing AYP for more than four years and after an almost burnt out experience due to overdoing of the practices self paced about two years back. Have only been carrying out SB and DM since then. Am pretty happy with the results and do not have any inclination of adding anything further to this as of now.