Building a Daily Practice with Self-Pacing
 distractions
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

nirmal

Germany
438 Posts

Posted - Jun 27 2009 :  04:47:15 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi everybody,

I am new to AYP and been practicing only one month after a hiatus from practicing DM in 2004.

My problem is distractions, either from a next door neighbor´s weed eater to one from one or both of my 9yo twin sons. After the interruption I try to resume my meditation but it is rather shocking how upset I get! Two totally different ends of rhe spectrum!

Any suggestions will help.

love and light,
nirmal

Shanti

USA
4854 Posts

Posted - Jun 27 2009 :  09:47:08 AM  Show Profile  Visit Shanti's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Nirmal,
This has been a common problem with many at the forum. Noise and distraction.
Here are a few topics that may have suggestions that can help:
Meditation with distractions
cotton, earplugs
external noise while meditating

I would personally say not to go in for earplugs etc. during meditation. The best way to deal with noise is treat it like a thought distraction. When you are pulled out of meditation due to noise, gently go back to the mantra.

Don't think and reinforce the distraction as annoying, because then it will be exactly that, annoying... if you treat noise distractions like you treat a thought distraction and gently go back to the mantra, then you will slowly get to a place where you can be in the middle of a crowded shopping mall and be able to meditate without being disturbed. It will take some time. But if you can keep going back to the mantra, you will soon be able to meditate without having to change your surroundings much.