Discussions on AYP Pranayama, Mudras and Bandhas
 Head bending backwards
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author  Topic Next Topic  

bsv

Sweden
1 Posts

Posted - Nov 15 2022 :  7:54:12 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hello,

First of all I would like to say that I am happy that I found AYP a few months ago. Very inspiring teachings! I went to a 10 day vipassana course during the summer and experienced tremendous purifications going on. Afterwards I expereienced an incredible stillness and clearity - which turned on my bhakti.

I have been practicing Asanas, SPB, DM and Samayama for about 2-3 months now. I really enjoy it. A few weeks ago I introduced chin pump. I don't know if it's related to the chin pump, but lately I have been experiencing a strong desire from my internal energy bend the head and neck backwards during SPB, DM and samyama. Before this bending backwards tendency I experenced more of random head movements / swaying / rotations during DM and samyama.

I wonder if anoyne else have experienced the same backward bending tendency of the neck and could shed some light on this? What is going on? I have found out that there is a mudra called akashi mudra, in which the neck and head is bent backwards. The mudra is supposed to open up the throat / vishuddi chakra. Could it be that I have some blockages in the throat chakra, and that the practices I'm doing induces an energy flow that's currently working on obstacles in the throat area?

I'm grateful to hear thoughts from people who have ha similiar experiences, or other wise words on this :)

interpaul

USA
524 Posts

Posted - Nov 15 2022 :  10:43:42 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply