Kundalini - AYP Practice-Related
 Zen style and Kundalini
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

prasta

Canada
3 Posts

Posted - Sep 27 2014 :  11:33:23 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi, I'm very new to meditation (few months in). I'm a very lazy guy and I don't like to do much pranayama. Lack of thoughts comes very naturally to me though and when I meditate, I just try to get to a point of being only perception. I believe this is similar to Zen style meditation.

I'm really doing meditation to have spiritual understanding from my own experience, and to hopefully awaken kundalini. That's a big interest for me. My question is, is it possible to awaken kundalini with just this very basic style of meditation? I can sit in a mostly thoughtless state for a good 20-30 minutes and nothing seems to happen, nor does it seem like anything might happen. I feel calmer for 5 minutes afterwords but that's about it.

And I hope it isn't frowned upon for me to be posting on "Advanced Yoga Practices" being a new meditator.

Edited by - prasta on Sep 27 2014 11:45:57 AM

Christi

United Kingdom
4374 Posts

Posted - Sep 27 2014 :  12:55:40 PM  Show Profile  Visit Christi's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Prasta,

Welcome to the forum.

It is fine to be posting in the "Advanced Yoga Practices" forum even if you are new to meditation. Being advanced is about being interested in things such as awakening. So you are clearly in the right place.

As to your question, yes, what you are practising is basically Zazen. Another name for it is "taking the one seat", or "just sitting". Will it awaken kundalini? Yes, eventually, but it could take a very long time. By a very long time I mean years or even lifetimes. People have spent their whole lives practising Zazen without experiencing a kundalini awakening. For others it has happened after 6 years, or 10 years, or 20 years.