Discussions on AYP Pranayama, Mudras and Bandhas
 kechari mudra
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

taopol

France
5 Posts

Posted - Apr 14 2011 :  10:18:34 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I have been doing yoga practices for more than forty years now, but was not really aware of the implications of kechari mudra till I read Yogani. I had tried now and again to "curl" my tongue, but could never get beyond stage one, to my utter frustration ...
I feel it is time to go further, and the frenum is an obstacle. I don't feel like trimming it myself, so my question is : wouldn't it be possible to ask my DD to surgically cut it ? I have an appointment to check my teeth on april 21st, and I intend to ask her to help me with this matter ... just hoping she won't think I am crazy ! if only she would know about the Hatha Yoga Pradipika or the AYP site!
What do you guys think about this ?

AYPforum

351 Posts

Posted - Apr 14 2011 :  11:11:18 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Moderator note: Topic moved for better placement
Go to Top of Page

woosa

United Kingdom
382 Posts

Posted - Apr 14 2011 :  7:25:17 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Taopol!

There has been mention of having it surgically removed. Think if you search kechari it is there somewhere in the large kechari thread.

If that is what you feel like doing then go for it! Just hope your dentist will just do it and think about the money, rather than asking for a reason haha.

The only problem I can think of is that you could go through the operation and healing to then find out you can't get into the kechari stage you are after.

Trimming it yourself is no big deal. It did take me a few goes to get used to the idea, but now I am doing it every 3-7 days (once you snip you just can't stop ). Like that for over a year and half now. I must have a big frenum
Go to Top of Page

taopol