Discussions on AYP Pranayama, Mudras and Bandhas
 Nauli
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Alvin Chan

Hong Kong
407 Posts

Posted - Jan 16 2006 :  09:43:40 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I tried following the instructions here on Nauli (as well as from other books) but still cannot get it. Something come out, but not the middle abdominal muscles. I think two tendons come out the two sides. The middle part may go up a bit, but not nearly as much as the tendons. Can someone give me more hint on that?

May be it is because my abdominal muscles are still too weak? I have been practising Uddiyana Bandha for about 6 months, but inconsistently. Recently I started practising a dynamic form of Uddiyana Bandha (Agnisar Kriya) for 5 minutes, 2 times a day. I intend to increase my practice on it. (by the way, Uddiyana bandha gives me a rather nice feeling physically)

david_obsidian

USA
2602 Posts

Posted - Jan 16 2006 :  11:38:58 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Alvin,

it can take many months to learn how to do nauli well. In the very early stages (first several weeks), you are doing OK if you are even able to get a little more activity on one side of your chest than on the other.

I'd say ontinue to work at that for several weeks, learning to separate the muscles on both sides. Then come back with more questions.

But there are people here with far greater expertise in hatha yoga than I have. Victor, Jim?

-D

Edited by - david_obsidian on Jan 16 2006 11:40:51 AM
Go to Top of Page

Victor

USA
910 Posts

Posted - Jan 16 2006 :  11:55:10 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply