Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 Samyama and ecstatic conductivity
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Emil

Australia
141 Posts

Posted - Apr 02 2008 :  04:24:20 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi all,
In the Samyama book Yogani talks about inner silence being the prerequisite of the Samyama. But then he also mentions something about ecstatic conductivity being "almost" a prerequisite. To be honest I didn't quite get it if ecstatic conductivity is required for Samyama to fully work or is ecstatic conductivity achieved by Samyama?

The thing is, I've been meditating for almost 15 years and have done Pranayama and asanas for almost 10 months and Samyama and brahmacharya for over 3 months. Yet I still haven't achieved much on the ecstatic conductivity front. I sometimes get a slight burning sensation or pleasure in my first chakra but no sign of bliss or ecstacy.

So I'm wondering is Samyama gonna make that happen for me? Am I not doing my pranayama correctly? Should I just keep waiting? Do I need more sleep? should I read more books? Am I too stupid to be enlightened? (kidding).
I'd appreciate your comments.

Thanks,
Emil

emc

2072 Posts

Posted - Apr 02 2008 :  05:07:58 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Are you doing all this to reach a goal- enlightenement? If you try too hard and focus and put effort on doing it technically right I believe it can set you back. The focus is then on doing it right instead of opening to the unknown, trusting the process and curiously see what happens. The most important thing is your bhakti, the longing, without demands or hopes for GETTING something. Just a longing and a knowing it will happen.
Go to Top of Page

Christi

United Kingdom
4393 Posts

Posted - Apr 02 2008 :  07:33:27 AM  Show Profile  Visit Christi's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Emil,