Satsang Cafe - General Discussions on AYP
 Missing practices :-(
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

anthony574

USA
549 Posts

Posted - Jul 20 2007 :  11:42:09 AM  Show Profile  Visit anthony574's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hey everyone.

Here's the deal. A week ago I was actually really starting to feel some things from practice. I've been doing AYP for 4 months and I was feeling the beginnings of ecstacy and very high bhakti.

Problem is, I missed two night practices. Sometimes I don't get to it till it's too late and there's almost no point in doing AYP when you're sleepy and your mind is jello. I also went to a concert that was waaay too loud and I was around a lot of cigarettes. I feel like this somehow damaged me as now I feel "disconnected" with low energy and my bhakti is suffering.

I have been trying to restablish my routine, but it bothers me that something like that might have the ability to disconnect me like that. It's really not pleasant, I feel like something is missing or like I'm back to regular old me. I know there is flaw in that thinking, but that's how it is regardless of whether I know its right or wrong.

Kyman

530 Posts

Posted - Jul 20 2007 :  12:35:48 PM  Show Profile  Visit Kyman's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Completely normal.

The cycles of purification, which are most vividly felt on the waves of bhakti, have a back and forth feeling at first. We have strong emotions around being on our chosen path and living up to our goals and principles. Our degree of bhakti at the time of low energy is most likely the only difference between a dark night of the soul and having a pizza and beer.