Satsang Cafe - General Discussions on AYP
 Meditating in a Steam Shower?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

SiMPLiFY

USA
13 Posts

Posted - Jul 19 2007 :  08:55:27 AM  Show Profile  Visit SiMPLiFY's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I have read most of the website and have the big book Advanced Yoga Practices. I've been practicing for about 3 months now. I am looking for a way to get a little more sleep in the morning as I add on Asanas and Pranayama. I do not want to give up my morning steam.

I have a steam shower with a bench in it.

I'd like to know if there is any harm in doing Asanas (20 minutes) and then setting the timer in a steam shower for 30 minutes to do 10 minutes Pranayama and 20 minutes mantra meditation.

I just wanted to check with an expert and make sure it's okay to deep breathe in hot steam for Pranayama. I set it to around 100 Degrees F

Thanks

Edited by - SiMPLiFY on Jul 19 2007 09:02:14 AM

anthony574

USA
549 Posts

Posted - Jul 19 2007 :  11:50:45 AM  Show Profile  Visit anthony574's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
the problem i see from a health perspective is in the steam itself. do you use reverse osmosis filtering in your steam shower? if not, your local water supply most likely fluoridates and chlorinates the water and that puts a heavy burden on your body by inhalation. also, i imagine that there is less oxygen being breathed in so it may not be good for pranayama

also, i read in an faq about someone who asked about meditating in nature, and i was suprised at first to see that yogani actually recommends against it, but it makes sense being that the object is to go inward.
Go to Top of Page

Shanti

USA
4854 Posts

Posted - Jul 19 2007 :  1:07:39 PM  Show Profile  Visit Shanti's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
quote:
Originally posted by SiMPLiFY