Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 Eyes open...eyes closed?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

anthony574

USA
549 Posts

Posted - Apr 10 2007 :  2:32:03 PM  Show Profile  Visit anthony574's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I am relatively new to meditation. I always closed my eyes and attempted to "enter" the black emptiness of my mind as emphasized by closed eyes. I now feel this is incorrect procedure due to its emphasis on withdrawl and escapism, whereas now I feel meditation should bring one MORE IN thier reality, so to speak. Anyway, without a solid foundation of practice, I began attending the Shambhala Center. It is a Buddhist organization that hosts group meditation, classes, ect. I have only attended once, but I noticed that they advocate an eyes-open approach. I found this odd at first, but now think it is an interesting new approach and also aids in keeping my clinically-wandering mind from doing its ADD shuffle. the I AM meditation on this site, which I find inspiring and hope to incorporate into my practice seems to employ the eyes-closed method. Is this necessary? I am now stuck between the open or closed conundrum. Any advice??

Scott

USA
969 Posts

Posted - Apr 10 2007 :  3:57:09 PM  Show Profile  Visit Scott's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
The only reason AYPers close their eyes is to minimize distractions. With either method, you break contact with the outside world and focus solely on the object of meditation. I prefer the eyes open approach too.
Go to Top of Page

david_obsidian

USA
2602 Posts

Posted - Apr 10 2007 :  5:14:53 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply

>> I now feel this is incorrect procedure due to its emphasis on withdrawl and escape.