Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 Holding breath / into the void....
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

hayaku

Australia
4 Posts

Posted - Jun 09 2015 :  11:23:13 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hello.

I have been practising mediation for almost 3 years now on and off, and recently have recommitted to daily practice after finding this website.

I would firstly like to say that I study neuroscience at postgraduate level and have experimented with psychedelics in the past. Without cheapening the spiritual value of meditation, I personally believe these are all interchangeable brain states, and have not discriminated between methods of reaching my goals.

Ok so with that said, on to my question: Sometimes when I meditate I find myself feeling like I am emerging forward into another world, it is very hard to describe but it feels something like fading from material existence and finding myself in a world of cartoons, or inside somebody else's dream. Even a few seconds here is a true achievement, and I find myself with heightened energy, concentration and well-being for days afterwards just my making it here so naturally I strive to reach this state every time I meditate although it rarely happens.

The problem is, inside this state I stop breathing, or at least I am quite certain that I do. I do no feel any panic or experience any breathlessness, but I am also aware that I am essentially holding my breath and feel like I could do so indefinitely. I usually suspend/come out of this state, not due to a physiological urge to breath but because I worry that I will suffocate. I am always tempted to stay in this state longer but do not want to kill myself or damage my brain. It scares me a little that I do not feel the need to breath when I enter this state, perhaps as if I am overriding a physical response that is there for an important reason.