Discussions on AYP Pranayama, Mudras and Bandhas
 Lots of involuntary movement outside of meditation
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

greymatter

USA
28 Posts

Posted - Jan 20 2015 :  9:22:11 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hey everyone,

I've been practicing DM and pranayama twice daily for about 10 months now. Since then I've read through the forums, the FAQ, and most of yogani's books.

Throughout my day, I feel unconscious urges to stretch, twist and crack my muscles and joints. It feels like my body is unconsciously learning where the tension and numbness is, then adjusting the way my muscles are arranged in ways that facilitate the flow of energy.

I cant say for sure when the automatic yoga happens. It seems to happen when I lose awareness such as in deep meditation. It might happen when I'm reading or walking. I can also make it happen by concentrating on the tension and numbness in my body.

Automatic yoga happens to me in crowds, on the bus, at college, and sometimes around friends and family, though less often. Sometimes people ask me what I'm doing, "Why are you staring up at nothing and twisting your neck?" Its okay though, I'm not embarrassed. I assume most people just think I have a nervous disorder. "I was just stretching" or "I was thinking about something" are my usual answers.

In the past week, I've been unconsciously making hand gestures that are similar to mudrahs with my left hand. Internally, I feel like the pressure of my fingers touching is happening in my chest.