Discussions on AYP Pranayama, Mudras and Bandhas
 Removing Pranayama from practice
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

auburn1

Ireland
6 Posts

Posted - Jul 30 2014 :  07:07:48 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
After two years or so I've given up on pranayama as something that can be beneficial to and enhance my yoga practice and I have reverted to meditation alone.

I studied Yogani's literature on pranayama closely and anticipated some move forward in my practice but after attempting various adaptions regarding time, frequency, visualisation etc (when the basic teaching was problematic) feel it not something for me.

Basically the problem was twofold. Having done deep meditation for a year, I started pranayama and found I could go deeper into meditation but I would exit before my allocated time (15 minutes) in a very uncomfortable way with feelings of agitation.

This did resolve somewhat but I did feel subsequently that after pranayama I brought a slight tension to my meditation reducing its effectiveness which I noticed in my day to day activities. I did chop and change things to try and alleviate issues and was of the general view time would resolve the matter. I now know this is not the case.

Due to the broad benefits of pranayama I would like to continue the practice in some way but it would appear it needs to be separated from my meditation. Yogani does not recommend this if I recall correctly but I would appreciate any advice or insight anyone here has on the matter.

Mykal K

Germany
266 Posts

Posted - Jul 30 2014 :  08:24:22 AM  Show Profile  Visit Mykal K's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Before introducing the mantra in DM, do you take a minute or two to just observe the thoughts?
Go to Top of Page

Dogboy

USA
2202 Posts

Posted - Jul 30 2014 :  08:49:04 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply