Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 Questions on Samyama and Rest Before Meditation
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Mr.Meditator

USA
13 Posts

Posted - Feb 25 2014 :  10:15:32 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I’ve been using the AYP system for a few months with great results. I have a couple of questions regarding samyama and meditation.

I understand that in samyama we think each sutra faintly and release into inner silence. What I’d like to know is when we think each sutra, are we only using the sound or vibration of the word without meaning (much like the mantra in deep meditation) or do we also intend on feeling each word. For example, with love, would I just repeat the slightest vibration of “love,” or would I think the word and also pick up a slight feeling of what love is to me without any images or mental concepts before releasing it? I know there’s no contemplation with the sutras. I just wanted to know if it’s enough to think the sound of the word or whether it’s best to also carry an intention with the word’s feeling.

My next question concerns that rest time mentioned before meditation and samyama. It comes more out of curiosity than anything else—I just think it would be interesting to hear more about it. In the lessons for meditation, the instructions before starting the mantra are to gently watch thoughts without favoring them as they go by. Then for samyama, we favor the inner silence before we start. What’s the importance of these two short transitional periods? Do they lay the groundwork for beginning the next practice?

Thanks for reading!

SeySorciere

Seychelles
1538 Posts

Posted - Feb 26 2014 :  04:52:48 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Dear Mr. Meditator,