Yamas & Niyamas - Restraints & Observances
 Marijuana and me
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Chaz

USA
129 Posts

Posted - Jul 16 2012 :  05:06:18 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi All,
Thought I would bring this discussion to the forum in hopes that someone on this path with knowledge and experience on the subject might offer some advice.

I've mentioned before that the spark of my conscious spiritual development is credited to my original experiences with marijuana. From its initial pleasurable highs, to its painfully revealing nature, marijuana has been with me practically every step of the way since I began meditation practices. So, it dawned on me the other day that I have no comparative experience on the path without the continuous heavy use of Marijuana to observe whether its use has slowed my progress or has been an aid in some way. As I see it, marijuana is very much a double edged sword in that aspect depending on intent and perspective. You're probably thinking, "Well, take a break and observe the difference." However, I have little desire to quit. I don't know why, but I accept it for what it is for now. Am I addicted? Maybe. I smoke too much to be able to tell. In other words, I wouldn't say I have unhealthy cravings for it, but I stay high just enough to remain "satisfied." Maybe that's what they mean by feeding an addiction. To be honest it just found its way into my life and has been easily accesible ever since. In fact its easier to get then the money to buy it! My closest friends and family are heavy users as well, so you can see why I'm such a pothead.