Asanas - Postures and Physical Culture
 Yin Yoga
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Yoda

USA
284 Posts

Posted - Apr 26 2006 :  5:12:14 PM  Show Profile  Visit Yoda's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Sean just told me about "Yin Yoga" where you very gently hold a posture for 5+ minutes. Not all postures are good for this, but he told me to experiment with it. Any thoughts?

david_obsidian

USA
2602 Posts

Posted - Apr 27 2006 :  2:09:24 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Yoda, I've done stuff like that myself, without being taught. It can definitely be good. Very relaxing.

Go to Top of Page

Anthem

1608 Posts

Posted - Apr 27 2006 :  10:03:23 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Yoda,

I've been doing yin classes off and on for the last 6 months or so and overall I do like them, I find that you can loosen up some areas that are stubbornly tight.

The only issue I have is that it is easy to take it into excess. Because the postures are held usually up to 5 minute, what starts off as a light stretch becomes fairly intensive as you relax into the posture over time. I find that there is a lot of strain on the muscle tissue, and supporting tendons and ligaments if not done very gently. I've also noticed an increased risk of injury if you engage in any ballistic type movements with the same muscle groups within a day or two of the classes.

I like the classes, I just avoid doing them too close to engaging in any intensive high velocity exercise.
Go to Top of Page

sean

USA
20 Posts

Posted - Apr 28 2006 :  03:34:55 AM  Show Profile  Visit sean's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Oh crap, so I should stop doing Yin Yoga and then going straight to Brazilian jiu-jitsu then.

http://www.thetaobums.com/forum

Edited by - sean on Apr 28 2006 03:38:09 AM
Go to Top of Page

david_obsidian

USA
2602 Posts