Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 DM Question
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Stillpool

USA
39 Posts

Posted - Nov 20 2011 :  11:09:56 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I've been practicing DM for a few months now. I try not to analyze what happens during meditation, but sometimes my mind gets the better of me. For some time, when I meditated, I noticed the mantra became very distorted, like a mumble in my head. It wasn't really I AM at all. But at the same time I knew it was. I took this to be the mantra becoming fuzzy like Yogani says, refining. But lately, just over the past few days, the mantra has become very distinct and clear, as if I was saying it perfectly on the surface of my mind. But I'm not concentrating, and even though the sound is very clear and drawn-out like a bell, it feels very deep. When I think it in this clear way it feels almost blissful. But my thoughts tell me I'm going backwards, that the mantra is supposed to refine and become quieter. Am I doing incorrect practice? Any advice? Thanks to all.

AumNaturel

Canada
687 Posts

Posted - Nov 20 2011 :  12:42:19 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Stillpool,

you might find this post helpful, as well as other points in that topic.
Go to Top of Page

mathurs

United Kingdom
197 Posts

Posted - Nov 21 2011 :  04:41:32 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Stillpool,
If you have a choice of a clear mantra sound and an indistinct/fuzzy one - then the fuzzy one is the one to go with. Don't force yourself though. If you start getting thoughts of "I am going backwards! etc - they are just that- thoughts - time to go back to the mantra at a comfortable level.
Go to Top of Page

Stillpool

USA
39 Posts

Posted - Nov 21 2011 :  2:28:22 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Thanks for the answers.