Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 Jaw/Mouth question
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

docshibby

USA
11 Posts

Posted - Apr 13 2020 :  12:10:12 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hello all-

I have question about my mouth and jaw during practice. I have been practicing ayp for a couple years and it has been going well. I realized recently that while I close my lips during my practice, my jaw is open and my teeth are apart. I have gently been trying to close it during practice, but this is causing a little bit of pressure and discomfort. I can feel a change in the flow. Should I continue to practice with my jaw gently closed or should I relax as deeply as possible and allow the jaw to be slack. I suspect my jaw opens by habit because of growing up breathing through my mouth.

Thanks for the advice.

Dogboy

USA
2193 Posts

Posted - Apr 13 2020 :  5:51:21 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Welcome again docshibby,

In my own practice my jaw sometimes parts; in times when purification was happening in my throat chakra, I had the desire to open my mouth wide for a while so I did. Things like this come and go, so if it is most comfortable and least distracting to have your jaw parted, then let it be and gently favor the mantra again.

Edited by - Dogboy on Apr 13 2020 5:52:49 PM
Go to Top of Page

docshibby

USA
11 Posts

Posted - Apr 14 2020 :  10:48:04 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
quote:
Originally posted by Dogboy

Welcome again docshibby,

In my own practice my jaw sometimes parts; in times when purification was happening in my throat chakra, I had the desire to open my mouth wide for a while so I did. Things like this come and go, so if it is most comfortable and least distracting to have your jaw parted, then let it be and gently favor the mantra again.