Satsang Cafe - General Discussions on AYP
 early DM practitioner here - things got crazy
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

tcpyoga12

USA
5 Posts

Posted - Feb 17 2020 :  3:20:46 PM  Show Profile  Visit tcpyoga12's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I'm not sure if this makes more sense in the Deep Meditation forum, but I'm a very green beginner so this feels appropriate.

I have a little bit of meditation experience. I have a ton of maha mantra chanting experience from my time with the Hare Krishnas many years ago. I've done some guided mindful meditations since then. All in all, not a ton of experience. No mantra experience besides audibly chanting hare krishna.

It might be worth mentioning that I'm an agnostic and a big skeptic. I approach spirituality in a somewhat scientific way - I'll try things and see how they work on me. So when this went down, I didn't know how to categorize it.

I've been reading the AYP book and started deep meditation last week. It's been going really well and I've enjoyed the meditation sessions. Saturday morning I woke up a little hungover and smoked some pot to push past the hangover. I knew I wasn't in an ideal state for DM but I thought it best to experiment and see how it went. Keep the routine, explore the practice.