Satsang Cafe - General Discussions on AYP
 Obtaining 'Jatismara'
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Kalchaya

USA
3 Posts

Posted - Feb 17 2019 :  8:33:39 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I have been practicing the Chinese arts of Neijia and Chi-kung for about ten years, and wish to expand my path into Yoga. I am over sixty, and have started moving into a reclusive lifestyle. I do not know how close to 'vanaprastha' I have gotten, but that is where I am heading. I have been reading whatever books I could find on Yoga to familiarize myself with the subject. I have come across the topic of 'jatismara' or 'jatiamaravatara' (different books spell Indian words differently), and this is what I have been seeking all of my life, without exactly realizing it. So there is no error in understanding, the jatismara I speak of is defined here (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jatismara). While some books say this is restricted to Saints, my research indicates this is untrue. When I was looking into reincarnation, I found many examples of 'normal' people that recall their their previous life.

To be able to recall at least some or all of this life in the next incarnation is my primary goal now. I would like advice from anyone knowledgeable in such things, as to what sadhanas I should focus on to attain 'jatismara' in the next rebirth.

luce

France
25 Posts

Posted - Feb 22 2019 :  5:33:51 PM  Show Profile  Visit luce's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hello Kalchaya,

We never know exactly where we are on the path, because we are all unique and so is each path to enlightenment.
I am not particularly knowledgeable about Jatismara (from personal experience) however, what I can say is that the Yoga path is about detachment and letting go of things.

It seems that you are trying to control the process by giving it a precise direction.