New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

MatthewC

Japan
13 Posts

Posted - Dec 12 2005 :  9:52:35 PM  Show Profile  Visit MatthewC's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message

Hi,

I am a newbie here so will briefly introduce myself before asking a question.

My name is Matthew and I live in Tokyo. Been here for about 7 years now. I began meditating about three and a half years ago and have tried a few different things, including Holosync, guided meditations, and meditating with music. I stumbled across the AYP site a month or two ago and got the book and have been fascinated with it. It seems to be a much more complete set of spiritual practices than I have experienced before. I plan to take some yoga classes to get some posture basics, and I have begun the spinal breathing and meditation with the 'I am' mantra.

My question has to do with meditating with the mantra. I had never tried this technique before and have found it to be very powerful and pleasant. For a while I was repeating the mantra after the exhalation or inhalation, hence the rate I was repeating it would change as my breath slowed. I was working with an image of the mantra being chimed much like a bell would be, from deep inside me and resonating throughout. The meditations I had like this were wonderful! Smooth, deep and very peaceful.

Then I read in a Q & A (Lesson #106) that the meditation should be leading the breath, not the other way round. Anyway, for a couple of days I have found it difficult to maintain any focus and my breathing seems to be quite erratic during the meditation. Perhaps I am focusing too much on trying to get my breathing smooth and even, but I find it difficult to focus on attaining any rhythm with the mantra. It also seems to become erratic like my breath, like I'm just blurting it out here and there and not letting it do it's job...or maybe it's all just happening the way it's supposed to!!!