Kechari Mudra
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Previous Page | Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 14

yogibear

409 Posts

Posted - Dec 05 2007 :  12:00:33 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
quote:
Scott wrote:

There are different types of samadhi. I'm no expert in the classifications, but I do know one thing: I would never call focused attention on any part of the body samadhi. Maybe technically, it is considered a form of samadhi...it's just that I consider samadhi to be when the body and mind drop away. I would call focusing your attention on a part of the body or mind, meditation. That's kind of another topic, though.

My understanding of Samadhi at the present time is that when the aspirant achieves the state by one pointedness upon an object, the practitioner actually becomes the object concentrated on. IE, if the object is "God", the person becomes God. The object is experienced as if one were it. So by concentrating on a body part, the heart for example, one achieves a state of merging with the object (yoga) in such a way that it is experienced from the inside out so to speak, as if one were it. This is a type of Samadhi. It is colored by the object of concentration. It could be a mantra. The state of Samadhi is the combination of the final three steps of yoga.

Please correct me if I am wrong about this.

Thanks, yb.
Go to Top of Page

Scott

USA
969 Posts

Posted - Dec 05 2007 :  12:46:59 PM  Show Profile  Visit Scott's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Yogibear,