Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Forum FAQ | Search
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 AYPsite.org Forum
 Discussions on AYP Pranayama, Mudras and Bandhas
 Spinal breathing without bandhas and mudras??
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

anthony574

USA
549 Posts

Posted - Aug 23 2007 :  2:23:46 PM  Show Profile  Visit anthony574's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hello.

I have been doing AYP for about 5-6 months. I have done SB since the beginning but without mudras or bandhas. After a while I started meditating and doing pranayama with Siddhasana, which i find to be comfortable. I have read yogani's books and was interested in trying some of the independent ones (chin pump, ect) but i always see they require the use of mulabandha, ect. i figured i would just slowly integreate them into my pranayama and down the road try chin pump or something.

i tried doing mulabandha today and felt it was a disaster. i am well aware of my PC muscle being a guy, but find when i contract my sphincter and draw the perineum muscle upward it causes my abs to contract. now i understand this is another bandha...but how can i take deep breaths if i cant extend my stomach the whole time? also, with mulabandha i find the contraction weakens and i have to keep recontracting it. i found the whole thing to be very distracting and being that i do not feel ecstactic conductivity, i think maybe i shouldnt do them now.

my question is whether it is OK to do SB without mudras and bandhas, or maybe because i dont use them could that be the reason i have never felt the energy? is it possible to reach ecstatic conductivity first and THEN incorporate bandhas and mudras?

thanks for the help guys!

Kyman

530 Posts

Posted - Aug 23 2007 :  4:11:42 PM  Show Profile  Visit Kyman's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hey anthony,