Satsang Cafe - General Discussions on AYP
 siddhasana and pinched nerve?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

interpaul

USA
524 Posts

Posted - Oct 05 2022 :  6:35:28 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
A more mundane question today. I've been practicing siddhasana for over 3 years now. I've gotten used to tucking my left foot as the preferred foot. My right foot sits slightly tucked under my shin/calf. In the last month or so I've noticed a significant nerve irritation over the left outside knee area centered on the skin over the bony prominene of the tibia. It's not a shooting pain but hurts if I kneel down on the area, as often I do when doing cat/cow pose. I can avoid pain by carefully placing the pressure more on the knee cap than lower down. I've recently been wondering if this is caused by years of holding this position for 40minutes at a time. I've recently switched to the other leg but find that is creating its own set of problems as the right knee and hip are not as flexible. There is no discomfort while sitting in siddhasana. I realize I could replace the heel with a ball but am hoping to continue doing this practice with some modifications if poossible. Switching legs half way through would be distracting during DM. Anyone else experience this and find useful work arounds during the practice or with other stretches after?

Dogboy

USA
2195 Posts

Posted - Oct 07 2022 :  04:43:34 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
I am a big fan of the perineum ball (old hacks sacks), one at home and one in the car (to meditate while parked). I have three suggestions: maybe a higher cushion/zafu? This will allow more room for the tucked foot. The second would be a perineum ball. The third, sitting in thunderbolt, astride a bolster or pillow. If you truly believe your pain is connected to your meditation seat, you’ll have to experiment and change it up.
Go to Top of Page