Healthcare - Holistic and Modern
 Diet in ayurveda and TCM
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Cato

Germany
225 Posts

Posted - Dec 23 2021 :  1:17:38 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Ayurveda and TCM both are broad hollistic healthcare approaches. I am curious about their dietary guidelines. They seem to be both different and similar. Has anyone experience regarding their effectiveness reducing health issues? Is one to be preferred over the other?

lightandlove

Germany
85 Posts

Posted - Dec 23 2021 :  8:43:55 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Cato,

I always found inspiration in Ayurveda and TCM, mainly Ayurveda as this was always present in my research on yoga. I think it can be very helpful to dive into some books if you want to learn about your body and diet in a way helpful for your practice. I‘m not in any way against western scientific views as a scientist myself, but regarding practical understanding of myself I found ayurveda and tcm way more helpful to find a balanced diet and body as this is a very individual thing.

I found both schools to be similar but ayurveda fits better into indian yogic philosophy whereas TCM is more a Qi Gong thing (different elements and other vocabulary).
Go to Top of Page

Cato

Germany
225 Posts

Posted - Jan 03 2022 :  4:49:04 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Thanks for your thoughts, lightandlove. I dived into an ayurveda book parvati9 from the forum has recommended. Today I got an appointment with an ayurveda practitioner and found myself understood since we had time and covered different health aspects and issues from my medical history. I think I will start and gradually change my diet respecting aryuvedic principles and see what else might become helpful or necessary.