Satsang Cafe - General Discussions on AYP
 Opening hips for an absolute beginner
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

adpa2007

USA
1 Posts

Posted - Aug 15 2020 :  8:53:58 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hello all,

Wishing you all a happy day.

I am seeking guidance on how to start my journey toward opening my hips. My goal is to simply be able to sit cross legged on the ground. Doesn't have to be a perfect lotus. Something like this would do: https://comps.canstockphoto.com/you...46534737.jpg

Right now, I can do something like this:

https://www.historytoday.com/sites/...hisattva.jpg

If I sit and lay one knee on the ground, the other can stick up at a 45 degree angle from the ground, at best. This is the consequence of being 31 years old and having sat on a chair every day of my life, never giving a thought to my flexibility. I am also rather tall at 6"1 (not sure if that plays a role).

I search all over the place for a yoga exercise that I could start with, but it almost seems as though nothing exists for someone who is as inflexible as me. Every "beginner" video on Youtube etc. seems to start with pigeon pose or something that I cannot even get close to doing. Whenever I try to follow along and do something that even vaguely resembles what the instructor is showing, I feel absolutely nothing in the hips, and then I end up getting immensely frustrated and give up.

I would be grateful for a routine that I could adopt and stick with every day, but I am losing belief. I feel like I am so crippled at this point that nothing will make a difference. After becoming aware of how uncomfortable I have been for three decades I want to do something to change it but I feel like I am locked into my fate now.

Any advice would be greatly welcome.

Thank you

Christi

United Kingdom
4364 Posts