Satsang Cafe - General Discussions on AYP
 headache, and transitioning from old practices
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

avocado

USA
14 Posts

Posted - May 15 2020 :  1:03:07 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi Friends,

Yesterday during DM, I received an important phone call from work, so I answered it. I had practiced 5 minutes of SPB and 5 min of DM when I answered the call. I instantly discovered that was a mistake. I couldn't even really talk, and told my boss I needed to call him back. I then lied down for a couple of minutes and tried to eat something, but ended up getting back to work. I had a headache for the rest of the day. Today, I still feel a bit "off," though my headache has mostly improved.

A bit of history: I am new to AYP, but not new to yoga practices. I have been practicing 15 minutes of DM in the afternoons (for 2 weeks). In the mornings, I have my own eclectic yoga practice that I wasn't ready to switch out for AYP. I added SBP in the afternoons 2 days ago, just 5 minutes before DM. I'm realizing, especially given my sensitivity, that it was probably too soon to begin SBP. My new plan is to drop my own morning practices (40 minutes of asana, pranayama, and shambhavi mahamudra) and try AYP exclusively. 15 minutes of DM, twice daily. I may add some asana in the AM, but I'm going to stay away from SBP for awhile given my sensitivity.

Would love to hear insights and advice from the community. Should I lay off on DM for awhile too? Or just drop SBP for now. Is there something else I can do to help my head?

I don’t want to give up my other morning practices as they have been a consistent resource in my life, but my concern is that they may interact with AYP and I don’t really have a proper understanding of the mechanics mix and match them. Any ideas on how to best transition from my previous practice into AYP exclusively?