Satsang Cafe - General Discussions on AYP
 Cannabis use & overcoming Tamas
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Hayley

United Kingdom
13 Posts

Posted - Sep 05 2019 :  06:46:27 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi
I have just begun studying & practising yoga and so I am a newbie.
For too many years I used cannabis & alcohol to escape an unhappy childhood which led to an unhappy life. For a long time I clung to these things with all the excuses as a crutch as I believed they helped me cope. In the past year after receiving some excellent counselling I have begun to realize what a hindrance they are and have been to my life.
After studying the gunas I realize that I have been led into tamas because of these addictions. This has led to me becoming self-divided as I deeply yearn for more and have done all my life. I despise the part of me that feels low and heavy and just want to escape from this It's only recently that I have began to understand that more is possible and it is not just an empty dream. I feel like the veil is being gradually lifted.
I have stopped smoking and drinking but am finding it a struggle to lift myself from this state and the temptation to smoke and drink.
I read too much and often become overwhelmed with all the different techniques available.
What I would like to know is if there is any advice anyone can offer for some simple beginner practices I could do to get me out of this place I feel trapped in.
Thank you for any help or advice you can give.

jusmail

India
491 Posts

Posted - Sep 05 2019 :  08:28:06 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Welcome to the forum. Your desire will set you free. Everything in moderation is the key, even withdrawal from undesirable habits. So let the journey begin. Read the lessons, and self-pace as needed.

Good tidings!
Go to Top of Page

Hayley

United Kingdom
13 Posts