Discussions on AYP Pranayama, Mudras and Bandhas
 SBP brathing-visualization coordination
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

albechan

Italy
28 Posts

Posted - Sep 12 2018 :  03:36:22 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I've been practicing AYP for a few months with great benefit.
Recently, I've started to take Yoga classes as well in order to complement my regular practices with asana. The benefit increased even further, so I'm very happy with that.
I explained my Yoga instructor that I follow AYP guidelines and that I am determined to keep going this path as the results have been undeniable. He understood but, at the same time, he told me that he can't be sure there won't be any clashes between his teachings (traditional Vinyasa yoga) and AYP stuff and that, in case this happens, I should decide which way to pursue.
So far I haven't experienced any deep inconsistencies and I'm fairly confident the two things can be done at the same time with great harmony.
There's only one thing that differs substantially, though: during pranayama my teacher wants me to put the attention on the breathing flow direction, that means down while inhaling and up while exhaling. This contrasts with SBP taught by Yogani where the visualization of prana inside the spinal nerve is supposed to go up from Muladhara to Ajna during the inhalation and down during the exhalation.
He gives me a routine of asana every other week and there's always pranayama at the end which fits nicely with DM that I practice straight after that.
It's been a couple of weeks that I'm doing pranayama following the breath down while inhaling and up while exhaling. I haven't noticed any difference in results.
Do you think it's very important not to reverse the attention-breathing coordination suggested by AYP?
Thank you so much.

Charliedog

1625 Posts