AYP Home | Main Lessons | Tantra Lessons | AYP Plus | Retreats | AYP Books
Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Forum FAQ | Search
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 AYPsite.org Forum
 Jnana Yoga/Self-Inquiry - Advaita (Non-Duality)
 Formlessness in enquiry
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

bhumikosha

Canada
3 Posts

Posted - Mar 09 2018 :  08:06:58 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hey guys, so I have recently started self-inquiry and found it fascinating how it could relate to my mindfulness practice. Through self-inquiry I have come to notice this "consciousness of existence" that is formless but there are sensations in the body that seek to associate with it (it may be its manifestation). Unfortunately i am new to this I and I would like to know, should I keep focusing on this awareness like a concentration object? How should I further the enquiry from that? Is that consciousness a door towards the self? Your answers would be very much appreciated by a beginner on the path of Jnana Yoga.

With Love,
Bhumi

BlueRaincoat

United Kingdom
1730 Posts

Posted - Mar 09 2018 :  10:59:26 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
hi bhumikosha

Do you have a meditation practice? When you said "mindfulness practice" did you mean meditation?
Self-enquiry without a sound basis in meditation is a bit like the proverbial giant with feet of clay.

Lessons 322 to 325 could be useful reading for understanding the relationship between self-enquiry and the Witness (called Inner Silence in AYP) which is developed through meditation.

I would recommend reading the lessons on this website from the beginning if you can. You will see where Kundalini fits in as well (since you asked the question in your other topic) and what to do about the sensations arising in the body during practice.

All the best