Asanas - Postures and Physical Culture
 surya namaskar
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Herb

Canada
111 Posts

Posted - Jan 29 2017 :  6:27:25 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi everyone

When it comes to asanas I'm a novice. I have been practicing the surya namaskar for the last two weeks and have a few questions on it. I usually do it in the morning before I do the other exercises I started two weeks ago and everything leads up to meditation which concludes my Yoga session. However I am starting to do my core exercises again for my back and mid section. I have developed those over many years to deal with my back which I injured 40 years ago.

My questions are:
1)I inhale or exhale going into each position then hold my breath for about 4 seconds, then move into the next position. I just came up with the holding my breath part myself and want to know if that is a good idea.
2)As I get into position I kind of squeeze out all my air or take a comfortabley full breath as I gently squeeze into the streatch part of the final part of going into the pose. I don't over do the stretch or the breath, but at the same time I gently do them as fully as comforatably possible. Does that sound right?
3)I continue doing full Surya Namaskar's until I'm well warmed up. Then I lay down in the corpse pose to practice a tensing and relaxing exercise before moving into some pretty intese Pranyama exercises that culminate in a very intense(for me at 59 yr's old) Bhastrika. Then, all pumped up with oxygen, I meditate. Can someone with lots of Yoga experience please comment on how you think I could improve this overall routine without changing or adding anything new to it?