Kundalini Issues Not Related to the AYP System
 Weird happenings during Surya Namaskar
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

aypyogagirl@gmail.com

India
4 Posts

Posted - Apr 24 2015 :  1:11:08 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi, Newbie here! Looking for some advise and reassurance maybe. I started doing yoga about 6 months back. I picked up my 1-hour routine from the Isha Yoga program - and it includes a few asanas, surya namaskar, shavasana, pranayama and finally meditation. I enjoy what I do thoroughly. However some weird goings on during the last stage of the Surya namaskar have gotten me worried. I am fine until I do Step 11-12, the one where I throw my hands and head back; after Step 11, when I move on to the next position and straighten my back, it gets weird. As I straighten up, what I experience ranges from buzzing in my ears and a feeling of mild vibrations passing right through my body to completely losing balance, and sometimes what feels like mild convulsions through my body. There have been a few times I've completely lost balance and reached out to the wall to support myself. And sometimes I feel a sense of... timelessnes...well, am struggling a bit here. Anyway, is this normal? I only do 3 sets of Surya Namaskar and I understand it isn't much. Some days, I reduce it to just one, and I still have the same experience. Any help, reassurance, suggestions?

Dogboy

USA
2193 Posts

Posted - Apr 24 2015 :  3:00:45 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Welcome AYP yoga girl,

Is it the leaning back that activates it? The arms overhead? Both in combination? You can eliminate the leaning and still benefit from a sun salutation.
Go to Top of Page

jusmail

India
491 Posts

Posted - Apr 24 2015 :  11:01:54 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply