AYPsite.org Forum
 Healthcare - Holistic and Modern
 Ayurvedic question...
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Chard

250 Posts

Posted - Jan 08 2007 :  9:31:31 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I have just recently been reading up on Ayurvedic medicine. I've been doing yoga for 10 years and now I'm doing the AYP suggestions including 20 min. deep meditation in the morning and evening using the IAM mantra. my kundalini has recently awakened as of 2 months ago. I've had some inbalances but with the AYP suggestions, I have found a stable platform. I'm looking for some guidance in the area of physical health and I would like to use an approach that complements what I'm already doing with AYP. I love the AYP suggestions but I just hope that an Ayurvedic doctor does not give me techniques that contradict what I'm already doing based upon my body's individual needs. Any feedback??
Thanks, Chard

yogani

USA
5195 Posts

Posted - Jan 09 2007 :  08:31:28 AM  Show Profile  Visit yogani's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Chard, and welcome!

Ayurveda and AYP are generally compatible, assuming techniques are self-paced and balanced. The main way we use ayurvedic principles in AYP is for balancing the inner energies in relation to kundalini awakening, primarily with diet, though any ayurvedic measures undertaken will be in support of balancing the inner energies (all of ayurveda is about balancing the three aspects/doshas of our inner constitution -- vatta, pitta and kapha).

Ayurveda in AYP is used in conjunction with a range of energy balancing and grounding methods which are discussed in this lesson: http://www.aypsite.org/69.html
There is a link covering some ayurveda resources there too: http://www.aypsite.org/ayurveda.html