Satsang Cafe - General Discussions on AYP
 Chronic Tension/Pain
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

afonsolfm

Portugal
12 Posts

Posted - Aug 14 2018 :  11:31:30 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Namaste,

I'm 18 and I've been meditating for almost 2 years now, daily, non-stop. It has become the only thing I do nowadays.

In the beginning it was very tough to meditate most of the time, because there was so much tension in the body. As weeks and months passed by, a lot of relaxation took place, new awareness, the world became very beautiful. However, I find that, 2 years later there still is a lot of tension and pain!

Right now, the world is super beautiful and I've dropped a lot of my "garbage" it seems. My movements are spontaneous, my words too. I am becoming very aware that I'm not really this body. Nevertheless, I'm not satisfied yet. I'm aware of a chronic tension in my abdomen, stomach and spine. I tell myself that this will eventually dissolve, like all my previous tensions and pain. But somehow, the abdomen has been showing huge and persistent tension for the last year. Every day, since the moment I wake up, there's a knife in my gut and it's there 24/7. When I drink alcohol (rare) or completely distract myself, it temporarily subsides, but never entirely. This tension is also a sort of anxiety, that never lets me fully relax. My meditations don't seem to get deeper because of this. I feel trapped in my own tension, spending my days alone in my room meditating.

Before, I used to meditate once every day. Recently, I've come up with a new routine - meditate morning, afternoon and night. I've also added Spinal Breathing Pranayama. In September, I'll be doing more physical yoga. I want to force myself to go to a 10-day vipassana retreat so I can burn there. Maybe I'll do Kriya Yoga. And maybe this is all a way to run away from myself, but I don't know what to do!