Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Forum FAQ | Search
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 AYPsite.org Forum
 Discussions on AYP Pranayama, Mudras and Bandhas
 Being "in" the spinal nerve or looking at it?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

hoots

United Kingdom
4 Posts

Posted - Apr 16 2018 :  06:43:16 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I've been doing SBP for a few years and before that the micro cosmic orbit. I think I might have been doing it wrong though. I can feel my energy move quite easily, so I think I've been sloppy. Instead of really being inside my spine with all my senses, it's more like "I" stay up in my head looking down and feeling the energy move through the spine. I don't really feel like I'm "in" my spinal nerve, and I never lose awareness of my body or feel deep relaxation.

Should I instead practice by trying to move my full awareness through my spinal nerve, so that all my senses pass through it and forget about being "up in my head" just looking at the nerve?

In case it's not clear, what I mean is imagine you pinch your hand gently. You can either be "in your head" and just notice "oh, I've just pinched my hand", or turn it into a meditation where you try to fully enter the sensations of being pinched, and forget about everything else. Which is the most effective thing to do for SBP?

Charliedog

1625 Posts

Posted - Apr 16 2018 :  08:09:50 AM  Show Profile  Visit Charliedog's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Wecome hoots

If you feel the flow of energy moving through the spine or spinal nerve it is ok to follow that with gentle attention/awareness. No need to remember that you are looking down from above, but if this is naturally happening it is ok too. Keep it simple and relaxed. Experiences will change over time.

Some lessons to read on SBP start from here www.aypsite.org/41.html