Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Forum FAQ | Search
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 AYPsite.org Forum
 Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 How relaxed to be during pranayama/meditation?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

tantor

United Kingdom
14 Posts

Posted - Aug 09 2017 :  02:14:41 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I've been meditating in various styles for > 10 years. When I very first began I saw some stuff through my third eye, but since then, almost nothing. I wonder if maybe I'm trying too hard.

I've reread the lesson on sambhavi, and Yogani says to ignore the eyes - just use them for physical pressure, and place the attention on the spine while going up and down in pranayama. How intensely focussed should I be while doing this? Is vague tactile awareness of my spine enough, or should I try to intently feel the passage from the perineum to eyebrows at every point as I move through my spine?

How about in meditation? I feel like I get an inner expansion when I tune into silence, but I still don't see anything. Perhaps I need to just relax so much that I lose contact with my physical body, but I find this very hard to do. Is this the right way to go though? I suspect I've had too much tension over all these years, and now as I'm starting to relax I feel like things are getting deeper.