Other Systems and Alternate Approaches
 Online Meditation Course
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

kami

USA
920 Posts

Posted - Jan 07 2017 :  4:16:51 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hey everyone!

Wanted to share my latest project with this family. As some of you know, I've been teaching AYP practices for many years now, and have held annual retreats every year for the last 5 years.

DM changed my life when I was starting out in my career in cardiology. It also changed my medical practice, where I began to incorporate it into my patient care. I started teaching patients to meditate during office visits and when they started asking for a place to bring their loved ones, I started a holistic prevention program running over 6 months and ending with a weekend retreat.

My program has morphed as I've started to bring in my training and experience in Ayurveda, Vedanta, tantra and the Direct Path into my courses.

I've realized that office visits can't be taken up to teach meditation. But it is necessary. Plus I've had a growing demand from patients to hold more classes in various areas, which is not possible due to my time constraints. Moreover, my colleagues wanted to know how they could prescribe meditation not having a practice themselves.
Besides, many of the participants of my programs wanted guided meditations for occasional use (to keep them motivated and on track).

All good problems to have..

So.. I've created an online meditation course where the core practice is AYP DM but I also go through meditation on the breath, mindfulness, walking meditation and yoga nidra as alternative or adjunctive practices. I've created tools for accountability and ongoing support (though of course, there is no support like we get here!).

Finally, I (and my colleagues) have a tool that is easy to prescribe and share and accessible on all devices and platforms.